Volume 1 Chapter 6: The Black Well, little Goddess and great Missfortune

Today marks our third day in this forest. After our fight we took the days to rest our injured bodies and figure out our situation. My injury isn’t that bad I can already move again but fighting is something else still. Fiolas leg is broken we fixed it with thick branches and cloth but for it to heal properly we will have to find somebody with healing magic.

The last days were unexpectedly quiet. There were no beasts trying to attack us at all, it might be just a lot of luck but maybe it has something to do with this “domain” related skills I got after defeating the boar. Regarding that I still could not figure out what the meaning behind that was.

We decided to start moving today. It is still hard for Fiola but our supplies are running out and we left Nori alone outside the forest which is worrying me, I mean she is still an animal and will not die after 2 days without food but still…

I decided to take a look after the boar carcass I left behind but all the flesh has already rotten away only leaving a skeleton covered by fur. I took one of its strong tusks as my loot and left the boar rest in peace.

Coming back to Fiola who was waiting at the clearing for me I decided on a proper reward for saving me from the boars first attack on us.

“Fiola, remember that the day after I bought you? I said something along the lines of ‘I don’t need a slave’?”

“Yes, Master.”, her expression darkens.

“I know that I broke my leg so it would be a lie to say I did not think about Master abandoning me. After all securing the life of Master is the most important *sniff* ”, tears start building up in her eyes.

“No, no, no. That is not my point. What I mean is that I am going to release you from your slave contract. Whatever you want to do afterwards is up to you.”

“Huh?”

“I mean my plan was all along to releasing you after you paid off the 80 silver I had to spend to buy you and after saving me like you did earlier I think this is an appropriate reward. Of course I will help you get your leg healed again too since it was my fault in the first place.”

“No, I… I don’t know what to say.”

Without waiting for another answer I used one of the skills only slave owners can use.

[Transcribe Ownership: Fiola] Fiola.

I hear “The Voice” once again.

“New Owner is the regarded slave itself. Do you wish to cancel the Slave Contract [YES/NO]?

I answered “Yes” in my head.

“Slave Contract successfully canceled. Access to any related skills will be from this point on denied.”

Fiola holds in for a moment before she starts bursting into tears. It took a while for her to calm down again but I guess that is understandable.

“Master. I know I might be asking for too much but can I ask for one more request?”

“If it is nothing to inconvenient.”

“I am not sure about that. Would you allow me to keep traveling with you for now? You gave me my freedom but I still have no place to go back to. Can you let me travel with you together… at least for a bit?”

“I don’t mind that but I have a condition if you want to follow me. Just call me Veltin like everybody else does, calling me Master is kind of embarassing.”

With still some tears in her eyes left and a radiating smile on her face she answers, “Yes … Veltin.”

“This is the first time I see you smile like that. You should do it more often it suits you.”, that sentence automatically came out of me, oops.

Fiolas face reddens recognizably,

“Anyway, before leaving the forest, I still want to check out one place it is about an hour of walk away from here. How do you feel? Do you want to wait for me again?”

“No, I will come along. That if mas…YOU do not mind when it takes a little bit longer.”

“Than its set let’s go.”

Where we are heading too? The black well I originally came here for but not only that. I found out that the location I learned about after defeating the boar is also there. I doubt that this is a coincidence.

Luckily there was another animal trail we were able to take leading towards the well, this one however was a completely different size. It looked more like a street than anything else.

We progressed fairly quickly but about an hour later Fiola was not able to walk anymore so I decided to carry her for the last few minutes. She said “Sorry.” but I just disregard that and answer with a quick “Don’t pay it any mind.”.

While carrying her however I recognized that it was a lot easier to move around, despite my injury I seemed to have a lot more strength I probably raised my Adventurer Level. But without going to a guild and updating my guild card I cannot tell for sure. For now let’s just say that I grew quite a bit stronger.

It took us another 30 minutes or so until we arrived at the entrance to the cave. The cave with luminous crystals and the black well inside.

Fiola surprised by seeing it for the first time lets a “Whoa.” slip out of her mouth.

“Ahh, Ma…Veltin you can let me down. I think I can walk myself again.”

I saw this place in my vision before but touching being here in person the atmosphere definitely changes. We are deep in a cave and still it is as bright as if the sun could reach down here. The crystals all shine in different yellow-greenish colors and enlighten the moss and small plant life on the ground. This place does somehow feel surreal.

It took us about 5 minutes to reach our goal. The room with the black well I saw before. A crystal much bigger than any of the others before shines from the ceiling. The entire floor is covered in green moss. Right in the front of the well stands a big stone cylinder with strange pulsating glowing patterns engraved.

The well of itself looks different … Before it was filled with a black slime like liquid swirling around but now it looks like it is filled with water to some degree. It looks like the former black liquid is getting diluted and starts to slowly vanish.

Almost simultaneously Fiola and I find our words again.

“Just what is this place?”

“Where are we?”

I carefully walked up to take a look at the stone. It is definitely not a natural stone, that is for sure. As I try to slowly reach for it the blue pulsating web-like pattern on top of the stone opens up. I pull my hand back and the pattern goes back into its original form. I try it once again and this time I try to touch one of the blue veins.

It’s mana. Magic Energy! I can feel it. It is so highly concentrated that it took on a physical form.

Fiola watches with a mixture of curiosity and disgust on her face. As I touch it the disgust takes overhand which I cannot blame her for. To be honest if this was something aside of mana it would be quite disgusting.

“Eeew.”

“It’s okay it is just mana. But what is forcing the mana into such a concentrated form and moreover into a pattern like this… wait, what?”

As I am lost in thought Fiola reaches for the stone with care but … the pattern does not react! I try again and it is the same as before.

I swallow down my anxiety and slowly touch the stone. The pattern opening up, showing the smooth stone surface, retracts as soon as my hand touches the surface. The veins lay them self over my hand and my lower arm when suddenly “The Voice” starts talking…

“Possession of [Domain Control Panel] confirmed. Access granted. Transcribing data.”

I feel a mass amount of information entering my head all of the sudden. It feels like all those headache inducing days of learning back in the castle combined into a single minute.

“Veltin!”, Fiola holds me by the shoulders.

The amount of information is so big that grasping it all impossible. My head hurts, a lot… Luckily it was quickly over.

“Thanks Fiola, I am alright now.”

And as the pain stops a light raises from the stone. At first it was similar to a green mist but it quickly gains more and more shape. Humanoid shape. Within seconds the light gained the form of a human girl.

“Huahh. Finally somebody managed to wake me up. You have my thanks little boy.”

The girl looked to be around 10 years old, has dark skin and long green hair.

“Who are you calling little boy?”

“Veltin do you know this kid?”

“AHHH! Don’t call me kid, brats! I am Herne. The goddess protecting all forests and animals. Fall onto your knees and ask for my forgiveness!”

“Sorry but you look like normal little girl to me.”

“Don’t call me little girl! It is just because I lost most of my mana that I have to remain in this form!”

“Even after telling me this…can you prove me that you are what you claim?”

“For a mere follower of that little Parlian to talk back to me what a disgrace…”

“How do you know that name?”

“I can sense her blessing in you. She even granted you a unique skill that cheeky brat sure is living the life having so much mana to spend! Kuhhh, how frustrating!”

“Ok, let’s say for now that I believe you. What do you want?”

Fiola could not keep up with the conversation and asked while giving me a confused look.
“What is this girl talking about Veltin?”

“Ahh…I will tell you about that later. And you, self-proclaimed goddess, let’s assume I believe you, why are you here and what do you want.”

“Self-Proclaimed?! Outrageous! About 1000 years ago somebody or something started corrupting my domains one after another until only this one was left. He managed to kill my guardians no matter how strong they were and turned the shrines into an incubator for what you call Tainted Beasts. We gods and goddesses accumulate our mana through our domains. Losing them means losing our power. Out of my hundreds of domains covering the continent only this one was left in the end. So before I lost this one and lose all of my powers I sealed myself within the shrine until somebody is able to free it from the corruption again.”

“Who would do such thing.”

“We don’t know. We tried fighting back of course but the corruption just spread to fast. A few among ourselves decided that they would need more help and turned towards the humans. Giving them what you call magic and skills they increased their forces and were able to hold back. Parlian was the first one to do so that brat.”

“And why did you not do so too? It seemed like the smarter choice.”

“Pff, puny humans. Those brainless creatures hurting the forests and animals. Why would I want to be considered a benefactor of the people destroying what I want to protect. In the first place those weaklings couldn’t even scratch one of my vassals.”

“And look where you are now… anyways what do you want to do now? If what you said is true than I am now the rightful owner of your previous domain and you are still without one. I am just saying Fiola and me almost lost our life’s for this so I won’t give it to you for free.”

“Greedy, as expected of a human but of course I won’t demand it back without giving something in exchange what are you taking me for.”

“A little girl with no powers.”

“Kuhh, I don’t want to admit it … but … but you are right for the moment.”

“See. What can you offer me in exchange for something as precious as this.”

Time to use my [Haggling] skill for once in a while.

“I can offer you one out of three gratitude’s after I regained some power. As soon as I get this domain back my power will grow again and I can contact my brothers and sisters. This domain holds no worth for you so lose nothing in exchange of a reward from a goddess!”

“That sounds great. But that implies that I trust you and believe your story. You could also lie to me.”

I know she did not lie. Her information’s match mine and my intuition tells me it is true.

“There is no guarantee that you will pay me back for it and I don’t even know with what yet. Also while it has no value for me this domain has still an enormous value for you. That’s why I want all three of the rewards! If you are really what you claim than you should be able to do that much at least.”

After hearing my words her previously pompous expression turned into a troubled one. Speaking barely audible she says:

“Kuhh, that’s why I hate humans. That greedy folk brings nothing but troubles … Fine! I agree to your terms now give me back what once belonged to me!”

I hold out my hand for her to shake. She gives me a skeptical gaze.

“Whats that?”

“It’s a handshake to seal the deal. With this we swear on our names and honor to hold our word. It is just a tradition under merchants and adventurers don’t pay it too much of a mind.”

She grabs my hand and shakes it.

“Now use the [Domain Transfer] Skill to give it to me.”

“[Domain Transfer] Herne!”

The Voice resounds in my head.

“Do you want to transfer the Domain: Rulu Forest to Herne? [YES/NO]”

“Yes”

“Domain Transfer successful. Access to any related skills will be from this point on denied.”

As The Voice stopped the girl called Herne starts glowing. The already glowing crystals all over the cave start emitting more light and from the ground bubbles of light looking like dandelions start floating everywhere in the cave. After a few seconds the lights gather at where Herne is standing and the cave returns to normal again.

Herne on the other hand is still emitting a faint green glow.

“Ahhh, I missed this feeling. Now, for the last step…”

Holding her hands away from her body she started a chant,

“You who will protect a goddess property,
You who heard my call,
You oh mightiest and strongest creatures,
You who will come to serve the Goddess herself,
I summon you to be my vassal,
[Divine Vassal Summoning]!”

Unbelievable amounts of green colored mana are flowing out of Herne’s hands creatubg something lookng like a closed flower blossom out of pure energy on the ground in front of us. Slowly it opened up to reveal a creature lying inside of it.

‘Mightiest and strongest’ she said…waking up inside the blossom of mana is a small ape. The little ape walks up to me. The closer it comes the smaller it looks. This is supposed to be the guardian of the forest? This small ape not even reaching my knee. Still drowsy it starts clinging to my right leg. Honestly, I would doubt anybody telling me this adorable creature is a divine beast protecting this forest!

“It seems to like you. Be glad puny human I grant you the right to name my guardian.”

I take the little ape into my hands, holding him at face level, looking straight into his eyes. Thinking of names is not really my greatest strength.

“Your name from now on is … … Pongo”

“Uwahh, that’s a terrible sense for naming you got there.”, said Herne.

Even Fiola had a reluctant reaction saying, „That’s a bit…”

The only one looking delighted was the named individual itself. At least somebody appreciated my effort.

While thinking that Herne walks up to me and gently takes Pongo out of my hands.

“With that it is settled. I will repay my debt to you human it will take me a week or two but I will contact you in time. You already met Parlian so you know the deal.”

“Just call me Veltin. And yes I am looking forward to it. Fiola and I are taking our leave for now. Let’s meet again soon.”

“So be it Veltin.”

As she is speaking her last sentence her body starts dissolving into light and in a few seconds she and Pongo vanished in front of us. Time to go back.

Walking back through the forest took us about three hours. I do not know what exactly controlling a domain does but while we were walking we found the black slimes of the tainted beasts all dropped to the floor, the former tainted beasts following slowly after. As if purging itself from a disease the forest gives of a completely different feeling from before. It was calming and refreshing and the three hours passed in no time.

Since we had time while walking I told Fiola about my encounter with the goddess Parlian and the unique Skill she granted me. I think she did not believe me all of it but, who can blame her, but she grasped the grand scheme of thinks so it’s ok this way.

Making it back to where we left Nori I feel the relieve overcoming me and the pain I did not recognize until now strikes me at once. Nori is still sleeping under the tree where I left her with a bunch of leftovers from what seemed to be the trees fruits laying all around her. I am glad she was alright while we were away for so long.

Getting closer to her she wakes up and walks up to me and Fiola getting all clinging and hugging for quite a while. Nolus’ are heard animals so she must have been pretty lonely. I have to keep that in mind. Time to go back. Gerold and Anne are probably worried too. So we packed our stuff, put Nori in the front of the wagon and start going.

Clouds were building up quite a bit and if we don’t hurry we will get back completely drenched by the rain.

We were about 15 minutes away from Gerolds farm when the air suddenly felt heavy, really heavy. It was as if we suddenly where moving through water.

“What is this?” Fiola asked.

I have a bad feeling.

I shout out “Faster Nori!” and give her a gentle stroke with the whip.

When we arrived at the place where the house was supposed to be there was nothing but ruins left

.

.

.

A smell of blood hung in the air. The animals and life stock brutally killed all over the place.
Please let Gerold and Anne be save!

“Fiola search the ruins quick! I search the stable and farmland! We got to find the two of them!”

“I…I don’t think that is necessary anymore.”, tears breaking out she crumbles.

I looked to where her finger was pointing just to see Gerold leaning against one of the last remaining walls. The scenery was painted in red. Lying on the lap of Gerolds dead body was Anne, sleeping peacefully it seemed but unfortunately it was only the top half of her body with the bottom nowhere to find.

How could this happen?! What kind of army could leave this trail of destruction?!

It took us a while before we regained our composure. The rain started to wash away the blood everywhere. About an hour must have passed when we decided to start burying them. At the bottom of the grave we digged out red water started to gather.

I took the biggest plank of wood I could find, a broken door, and threw it into the grave to putting both of them onto it to rest. This ironically enough reminded me of  the picture of them welcoming us here 3 days ago. The tears I tried holding back for the last hour came through for a bit.

Before putting the earth back into the grave and letting Gerold and Anne finally rest I touch Gerold and use the skill only I can use. I have to know what happened!

[Historia]!

Chapter 5                                                               Final Chapter

Leave a comment